Here & There

By UncagedKiwi

Sandhill crane in full (muddy) breeding plumage.

Well, here we are back in USA again. I have been off the Blipfoto airwaves for months ... VERY lazy. 
I thought I might try to back-Blip to record our time in Utah, at least some of the highlights. A big task, we've been here since 23rd March!! Anyway we'll see how it goes. 
This afternoon is a bit wild with thunderstorms and lightning, but I got out for a good bike ride earlier, around the Snyderville wetlands, taking my proper camera in search of sandhill cranes  - success. Came across 3 of them, such huge, elegant birds. Interesting that they preen themselves in the spring with the local red/brown mud, changing colour from grey to this quite distinct orangey brown. Their original colour is more like what you see on the head. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.