There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Tudek Park, Under the Sheltering Oak

We had errands in town that included buying steaks for our first cookout of the season, on the upcoming Memorial Day weekend. While my husband shopped, I did a quick tour of nearby Tudek Park.

The horses were out, the sun was shining, the birds were singing, and people were working their plots at the community gardens. There are some things growing there now, and it's neat to watch the greening of it all.

And of course, at the very heart of the park are the big barn, and the even bigger white oak tree, which is one of my favorites in this town. The tree lifts its arms to hold up the sky. It provides shelter and shade, and beauty. I reach out my hands to the tree. I say, "God bless this mighty oak!"

The soundtrack song is the Rolling Stones, with the incomparable Lisa Fisher, and Gimme Shelter. (My Bootie Boot Boot, this one's for YOU. You always said we'd come back in our next lives as Mick's backup singers!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.