Fuentes3

By Fuentes3

No idea...

I really have no idea what this building is. I was looking for what is described as a romanesque church, San Juan de Berbio, in Santianes, outside Infiesto. When I found it, this - I think, beautiful - derelict building was right in front of it. 
The church was once romanesque, and before that it was probably in existence and pre-romanesque. It was destroyed "definitively" (whatever that includes) by the anti-Franco forces in 1936 at the outset of the Civil War and rebuilt several decades later. The problem with that is that, as far as I coud see from the outside, there´s almost nothing left of the original. The only thing that does look authentic is part of the west entrance, so I´ve put a picture of the west frontage in extras. 
All of which results in my having decided the church doesn´t deserve to be photographed but the ruin does. I dont know what it was, but by it´s location, it may have been a residence for the cura, and therefore destroyed when the church was; alternatively it might have been the main building for the nearby farm. I´ll try to find out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.