CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Afon Sistema' bring carnival to ourJazz Festival

Helena appeared beside me, unexpectedly, at my stall in the Shambles Market today to tell me a samba band was playing on the forecourt of Stroud's Subscription Rooms in the centre of town. She kindly offered to look after my stall while I rushed down to enjoy the lively music scene. There is a short Jazz Festival in Stroud this weekend and this was obviously planned as a free public part of the festival event.

There was good crowd all around the forecourt enjoying the sound of the drums, other percussion, dancing and singing. I'd expected it to be a local samba band which used to appear here occasionally many years ago. But this was a much larger and more accomplished collective of musicians and dancers called 'Afon Sistema'. I've since discovered that they are based in Bristol and tour west country events to bring 'the sounds of carnival all the way from the city of Recife, in the North-East of Brazil'.

I took some photos on the forecourt but it was difficult to get pictures with the public scattered all around them. Soon after I arrived their 'conductor' brought the music and dancing to a halt and announced that they'd have a short break to catch their breath and then start parading up Kendrick Street to the High Street. 

I moved up to a vantage point where I would see them approaching me. I didn't have long as I wanted Helena to be able to see them parading up the streets. I've chosen this image as my blip as it shows the whole group starting the parade. I've added a couple of others, of the wonderful dancers and their beautiful and colourful swirling dresses and smiling faces. They were having a great time.

ps I've also added a few back blips ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.