tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Folk

Fishguard Folk Festival is on this weekend, the first of three music festivals that take place in the town.

Here's BouZaTina, a bazouki'n'concertina duo playing and singing in one of local pubs.

Earlier the Fishguard Folk Singers (extra) sang, among other things,  the Reverend Eli Jenkins' much loved prayer from Under Milk Wood:

Every morning, when I wake,
Dear Lord, a little prayer I make,
O please to keep Thy loving eye
On all poor creatures born to die.

And every evening at sun-down
I ask a blessing on the town,
For whether we last the night or no
I'm sure is always touch-and-go.

We are not wholly bad or good
Who live our lives under Milk Wood,
And Thou, I know, wilt be the first
To see our best side, not our worst.

O let us see another day!
Bless us this holy night, I pray,
And to the sun we all will bow
And say goodbye - but just for now!


[In looking up the verses I'm irritated, once again, to find the 'wholly' spelt 'holy' more often than not and Milk Wood frequently written as one word. Both are wrong!]


Thanks for all the interest in yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.