Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The Four Virtues

We broke our journey back from Montgomery to Oxfordshire at the Brockhampton estate in Herefordshire. This was mainly so that I could look around the apple and plum orchards being restored by the National Trust (I'm hoping to turn one of the fields at the new house into an orchard). My blip was going to be from the orchards but then we had a look in the estate chapel and discovered some stunning stained glass from James Powell & Sons. The east window is by Mary Lowndes and gave me another Cecilia for my collection but I was most taken by the two south wall windows depicting the Four Virtues. Dating from 1891 these windows were designed by Ada Currey who described herself as 'without profession'. Largely forgotten now I recall that she designed some of the parish church windows where we lived in Sussex. The colours here are just magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.