Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Spuds, beans and peas

My friend Tim left this morning on his drive back to Skye - good to have his  gardening company for a few days!

I potted up some plants which will be going to a friend and then went down the the roadside to do some planting on the bank, but ended up talking to a lady from round the corner. I must remember - the plant and my trowel are still down there! 

After lunch I went to the Glencruitten Walled Garden, Greenshoots as it's called, to plant out the chitted seed potatoes and water the peas and beans. There was nobody there at all today. I heard some sad news last week - apparently the new owner of Glencruitten House seems to have control over the Walled Garden, something I was told a couple of years ago would most definitely not be the case. The story is that he wants Greenshoots and Hope Kitchen out by September! It's hard to imagine how that could have been allowed to happen! There have been years of work and expense over many years, construction, restoration, all sorts of projects - see extras. I hope that it's not true, but I fear that it is. For a new owner to run it as a fruit and vegetable garden would be a huge expense, so naturally other stories are doing the rounds.

So this might be the last growing season for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.