David J. Rose

By djrose007

Lonely Sportster!

So, off I went and rode the 45 miles to Studley Rose Care Home for the residents 90th birthday. Got there in plenty of time, about quarter to two.
I was surprised that there were no other bikes there so took off my helmet, jacket etc. and went into reception. 
"oh, that was yesterday" said the lady on the desk! DOH!!!!!
I had read the post on Facebook but obviously not carefully enough, I don't know why I thought it was on Sunday.
I went back outside and took the photo of my lonely Sportster in the car park!
On the way there I initially took the M5 motorway for about 12 miles, turned off at Tewkesbury and on to Sudley (near Redditch) passing Evesham, and Stratford on Avon on the route. On the way back I thought about popping into Stratford, Wellesbourne-Mountford airfield, as there's an Avro Vulcan B2 (XM655) based there. No, I decided to crack on but not take the motorway back. Stopped at the Army Logistics camp at Ashchurch to take the photo of my bike with the Chieftan tank, then went through Tewkesbury, turned off towards the villages of Tirley, Corse & Staunton, Hartpury and Maismore, a nice ride, and then headed home when I hit Gloucester.
Final mileage just over 100.
So not a wasted day, I had a lovely ride  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.