Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Holding back

Another beautiful day, in which the met office person after the news has apparently said that southern Europe is no place to be just now as they have constant rain and we have this big high ... (I missed that bit. I'd fallen asleep and may even have been snoring ...)

For anyone who is breathlessly waiting to find out if I got my voice back today, the answer is "No". I had a trial sing before I left for church and wasn't hopeful; by the time I'd got through two Pentecost hymns I knew it wasn't on and hissed at Himself that he'd have to play something during the communion. I was at the stage of wondering if I was actually sickening for something by the time I got home, but after doing not very much at all since then I've decided I'm still simply tired. (Last night was a disaster - I think I woke as it began to get light and didn't really sleep properly thereafter but lay fretting instead. Lethal, really)

After church I fell asleep briefly in the garden after coffee but before lunch; I spent most of the rest of the afternoon reading the paper in a dozy sort of way. We did however go for an old person's walk out the Ardyne shore road in the late afternoon; it's only 1.25 miles all told but was quite enough for me. 

I had a nice conversation by messenger with someone I hope to meet in person for the first time this week, along with all the other people I've come to know on Lewis. The logistics of getting around seem to have boiled down to a couple of taxi rides and the rest on foot; luckily the forecast is excellent. 

In keeping with my deliberately low-key day, I'm posting a peaceful picture of a pleasing corner of my patio - the view from my kitchen window if I'm at the sink. Apart from the slow-doing anemone on the left, there is the meconopsis with several hairy buds, one of the yellow roses from our Golden Wedding just coming into flower while the other prepares to replace its golden colour later on and the old one in the back right is yet to produce a bud. The purple phlox is dominating the right corner nearer the camera, and the small pots have the odd nasturtium or sweet pea just popping up. I find this a pleasing little corner - and all the more so as Himself cut the grass yesterday. 

And now I'm off to draw ALL the bedroom curtains in the hope of sleeping a bit longer tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.