Frontier

By Frontier

Private Mirrors

Tina Turner - Private Dancer

Been a Tina Turner today and getting into her Ike and Tina Turner days. Despite their awful relationship, the music was fantastic. Gritty, greasy and wild.

I was recommended listening to one of Taylor Swift’s albums years ago. I like one of her hits so I thought I should give it a chance. It was annoying and made me cringe. Good production and sound quality, but Taylor Swift’s emotional lyrics just grated against me so much. A Grammy for whiny-ness? That’s how it landed with me. I immediately went to Private Dancer and it was infinitely better in every way. Lyrics, production (albeit dated), and a voice for the ages. Geez, I can feel so much in just the song, Private Dancer than all of Reputation.

I haven’t listened to Taylor Swift since then and don’t plan to, but I do imagine that with the releases of her subsequent albums, they’re getting better and more mature.

Back to Tina Turner. Been enjoying returning to songs I haven’t heard since I was a kid and discovering even more than before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.