Flossmo

By Flossmo

Doggo

I spent the morning at my desk getting through a few admin tasks. I managed to order a wedding present for a friend who is getting married next month, follow up on some emails and sort out a few volunteering issues. All in all a satisfactory morning's effort.

After lunch we went down into Farnham for the first of the Music in the Meadow  events for this year. Town was surprisingly empty (I guess everyone is away at the seaside) and we parked the car with no problem. No visit to Farnham is complete without a trip to Poundland, although it's more like Twopoundland now. Anyway we stocked up on a few treats and I bought a couple of small succulent plants.    

After that we took our folding chairs into the meadow and settled down with a cup of tea to listen to the music: a guitarist and a singer/flautist. It was pleasant to sit in the shade and just drift.

One of my favourite pastimes whilst sitting in the meadow is dog-watching. Lots of people bring Rover and Buster to the music events and expect them to sit quietly at their feet. Sometimes their canine companions do just that without a murmur. Other times, they do it but with resigned expressions. Yesterday there was a beautiful golden retriever who was eying up the other dogs and desperately wanted to go over and 'make friends' but his owners were having none of it. The little dog in the photograph was sitting just in front of us. I tried to teach him to wink but he wasn't in the mood. It kept me entertained.  

In the evening I continued reading my book: Johnson at 10. I'm currently deep into the chapter about the role of Dominic Cummings in Johnson's rise and fall. He comes out of it very badly and Johnson likewise. I don't know why I keep punishing myself with these political biographies and autobiographies. Curiosity I guess and a bit of schadenfreude.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.