Flaneur

By NickMog

Total Perspective Vortex

The shape loomed out of the mist and briefly resolved itself into the figure of a short man before dissolving and disappearing again. I was struck by the sense of a complete life existing almost completely separate from my own, with just that momentary intersection.

From there, following a well-established path, my thoughts moved on to all the other lives that existed independently of mine, the incomprehensible vastness of space and the completely insignificant portion of the Universe in which I existed. And the ridiculous immensity of time that formed the foundations upon which this present second rested. The absolute insignificance of my momentary existence.  But then, exploring a new turning, I considered the persistence of all that time and space past the point at which it would serve as a context for my consciousness and I couldn’t believe in it.

For what would be the point?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.