Feorlean

By feorlean

An unusual shortage....

According to blip statistics I mention weather more often than most blippers - probably because of where I live, but also because it fascinates me. 

The most unusual phenomenon here , apart from increasingly rare snow, is drought but today I noticed that the stream (where we used to get all our water before we went onto the mains fifteen or so years ago) is very low with only these little trickles coming down the final waterfall behind the study.   

As there is no rain in the forecast for at least ten days  (and hasn't been much since we came back from Mallorca a fortnight ago) I suspect it will go even lower.   In the 30 summers we have lived here it has never gone completely dry (Archie McNaughton, from whom we bought the house, said it hadn't gone dry in his recollection ever)  but it has come very close - as close as this - on at least one previous occasion.    

Then however we relied on it more than we do now and I am not complaining about the sun which has beautifully warm today again and is due to shine all week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.