First honey

We have certainly had a run of sunny weather and the honeybees have been very active. I thought I would have a peep in the hives to see what we had, and found a good super full of honey. I brought a frame out for Helen, and she was amazed! Honey straight from the hive is warm and fresh and so full of aromas, it’s a really unique flavour.
We scooped the honey out into a bowl, and after sieving we had a good two jars full. I will try to collect some more as I know my market customers are queuing!
We had a great walk at Howe Ridding and saw more Duke of Burgundy butterflies, and Small Pearl bordered fritillaries. Also a rare day flying moth. Also a visit to Foulshaw Moss delighted us with the scarce White faced darter. 
A great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.