LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Summer is here Today

This is what Lister Square looks like at the start of the hottest day of the year so far.
When it is like this it is so easy to forget the months of freezing temperatures both inside and outside the house. Because we get weather like this so rarely, there seems little point in doing any household chores- much better to lap up the sunshine outside with a good book. I did manage to make it to the Post Office earlier to mail wool up to Orkney when I found it competing with the Dry Robe for space in my luggage but other than that I’m have been ensconced on the patio for most of the day

I’m really not complaining (much) but the background noise is quite something- the constant drilling of the underground flood defence reservoir on the other side of the Meadows, the clattering construction of the Meadow’s June Fun Fair, the noise of circular sawing two flats above me as a new kitchen goes in and the constant hum of the sunbathers on the other side of the railings. The nearby blackbird is giving it laldy as he competes to be heard. It’s at times like this that I miss the old castle’s garden surrounded by 7’ high walls. I would prefer my own space if there were a choice. Just saying…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.