HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Country roads

take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, mountain mama
Take me home, country roads


Could not help but sing this when we cycled here today. My husband was able to leave work early today (slowing down for the summer, and also he's done a lot to make it work more efficiently) so we went cycling.



We did 24km in bit over an hour. If I had eaten better, I think I had been able to do more kms, but I'm just happy I went and did my best. I clearly need to start eating better to have energy for longer rides.



My target is to go cycling 2-3 times a week. I've been training ( and still am ) on my feet. But as I have incipient osteoarthritis on my toes, so I need to do bit less of the old type of training and bit more swimming and cycling to last longer with it. So I'm transitioning on the sports side  as I am trying to get back to my normal self.



As you can see, we have quite quiet roads here for safe cycling. We do pop into forest roads too. It feels luxurious to have all that to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.