Flossmo

By Flossmo

Iris

It was pleasantly cool for my weekly walk with my friend J. I couldn't believe, though, how quiet the roads were - at a quarter to nine there was barely a car to be seen. Absolutely everyone must be on holiday or working from home.  

Back home I settled down to paperwork. There was a backlog of filing and other matters that required some concentration. I managed to tick quite a few things off the list so I was happy about that.

After lunch I carried on with the less demanding tasks and put iPlayer on in the background. I caught up with the first episode of Sewing Bee, an old favourite, and then iPlayer automatically brought up Coronation Tailors: Fit for a King; the connection being Patrick Grant. The latter programme dated from the beginning of May and was a fascinating peep behind the scenes at the company that made the uniforms and robes for the coronation of Charles III. The materials and effort expended surpassed my wildest expectations. Absolutely no expense was spared - silk velvet, gold braid, hand stamped buttons; the list of expensive accoutrements was breath-taking. It's nice that we have these traditions and that everyone is turned out nicely but it did seem a tad over the top, especially in the current climate. What is more important - a made to measure suit for the conductor of the band with gold-braided, stand-up collar or decent weapons for our troops?


The photograph is of my very own, home grown iris.  There is a big clump in the fish pond at the moment and guess what - they don't need watering!    

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.