MikeWest

By MikeWest

Prowler

I couldn't quite believe my eyes, a racoon in broad daylight. I have seen them on the trail cam at night, but not for real in person. I only had seconds and didn't get chance to get a decent shot before it disappeared into the vegetation. I tried my best to salvage the image, but I fear it's really too soft. I kept looking hoping it might circle back, but sadly not.

Then, not far away I heard crunching at the edge of the prairie. There amongst the emerging wildflowers was a muskrat. It broke off a bunch which it dragged into the water and had lunch. After going back for some more it swam away with a mouthful.

Now, I have seen these animals before, but identified them incorrectly as groundhogs, see here and here. I have since learned groundhogs are terrestrial, whearas muskrats do inhabit water.

Extra: Leaf Monster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.