wrperry

By wrperry

Female Red-winged Blackbird

On birding online sites, I've noticed frequent identification requests for the female Red-winged Blackbird.  Their appearance is so different from their male counterparts, and certainly doesn't match the blackbird name, so I can see why they can be misidentified.  This one was up close in the marsh grasses, and happened to have an insect.  I would have loved to have posted a blip of the baby Northern Rough-winged Swallows that Suzanne and I spent a long time observing (and as a result have many, many photos) but I just wasn't pleased with my results.  I think they were a little too far away.  Maybe Suzanne got better photos, but regardless, it was a pleasure to be out at one of our favorite locations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.