Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Bruises

Thank you to fellow Blipper lovely Lizzie_Birkett for sharing a picture of Frank's arm yesterday. Mr T was like this about seven years ago. Cardboard brushing against him would cut his skin and sometimes he wouldn't notice. This bruise is from blood tests and a cannula.

Whilst he doesn't get many cuts now he does still bruise easily. In the weeks before he came into hospital we had the wheelchair lady, neighbours, rapid response twice, OTs multiple times plus then the paramedics to the hospital and the scans. 

When he got to the ward on Thursday the HCA said she needed to do a skin check and was I happy to stay. Of course. She then went to get a nurse and said legally I had to leave the room. I thought odd, but I waited outside. I then heard hushed voices, heard mention of bruises and 99.99% certain a mobile phone camera shutter. At one point Mr T yelled out. 

When I was allowed back in he said 'thank god, get the things they're running riot in here'. His eyes were wide open and he was angry and scared. The main reason we were still awake at 03:00 was that he wouldn't close his eyes and go to sleep. He told me he was too angry. I managed to find out why. He said they had asked him if I was hurting him, and had put all the lights on. I asked the nurse and he said no lights had been on.

As they hadn't sorted his catheter bag I found another nurse and spoke to her, at which point the first nurse appeared with a catheter bag in hand. She asked if I wanted to complain and I felt it was a risk but needed to be done. The senior nurse was lovely and went and spoke to them. After that he went to sleep. It's also frightening how easily it can be to be a suspect.

This isn't something that I wanted to share as the thought of anyone thinking I would hurt Mr T makes me feel ill. Also that no questions were asked, just the assumption that it was me. I found out yesterday that some of the other HCAs also made a complaint about what happened. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.