Fuentes3

By Fuentes3

Carvings

I´ve shown some of these before, this time I´ve tried to show them better. All the pictures are of the doorway of the west entrance to the romanesque (13th century) church of Sta María de la Oliva in Villaviciosa. The main photo is one of several carvings of a small bird, that appears in a decorated column. Small parts of two of the female figures that are shown in the extras can be seen in the main photo. 
The extras are collages showing the defaced carvings of women, vandalised during the Civil War as an act of revenge - not against this church but against the Catholic Church in Spain. Obviously the statues can´t be restored, and this is  the state they´re in today. 
I´ve had it explained to me that the damage was not done by Republicans in the Civil War but by "Napoleon´s atheist soldiers" in the 19th century. I think the blame rests very squarely in the 20th century. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.