isbiJG

By isbiJG

I didn’t see this coming!

This is in the beautiful Cumberland State Forest, 40 hectares of native forest in West Pennant Hills and is the only metropolitan state forest in Australia.
I was raised on the lower north shore of Sydney and thought I knew everything about the north side of the harbour. Well I’d never been here before, in fact I’m embarrassed to say I’d never heard of it!
There are lovely walking tracks and family picnic areas but it is nearly invisible from any surrounding streets. It is situated in the upmarket Hills District of NW Sydney made up almost entirely of what we refer to as McMansions.
I went there today with a friend to collect a ute and trailer load of sawn timber from the Forestry Corporation to be used on Rotary/Men’s Shed projects in the Mountains.
I still can’t believe this place exists!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.