Snapdecisions

By HF1

Mapperton House

I met my friend from Sidmouth at Mapperton House today . It was glorious! Not only were we able to have a lovely time chatting over coffee outside but the weather was beautiful and the gardens were at their best . 
It’s the home of the Earl and Countess of Sandwich although the son and his American wife now live in the actual house . We had a guided tour which was fascinating with lots of little pieces of info like the love affair of a previous Earl with Martha Ray , the singer. 
The gardens are Italianate and delightful. I’d forgotten how lovely it was here as P and I last visited before the Pandemic . 
The lanes approaching the house are narrow so I proceeded with caution !
I had two phone calls with friends in the evening to catch up on news then packed as I’m off to the Midlands tomorrow to see my family .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.