Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘My First Car’

It was a gloriously sunny morning for parkrun today, with only the slightest cooling breeze on the way out that helped on the way back. I got my best time since last November! Still very slow these days, but progress nevertheless!

Just as we were leaving, I spotted this Morris Minor Convertible parked on the road above the prom and just knew it had to be the subject of today's blip.

It's exactly the same as my first car, a white 1960 convertible that I got in 1969. It brings back lots of fond memories. 

One of my favourite memories was how - lacking a rigid roof - the car would sag a bit in the middle when you got four people aboard so that the doors became perceptibly ‘sticky’ when you tried to open them!

Oh, and the wind in your hair when the hood was down... oh dear, yes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.