WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Market day

After a good night's sleep, I was up bright and early so I decided to take advantage by going to the market in Lagrasse before it got crowded. It was a lovely fresh morning, and I joined the throng of half the population of Lagrasse heading to the Place de la Halle with their shopping baskets. It was such an archetypal French market scene. It only has a few stalls but all the produce is fresh and local. I was gutted to observe that I have clearly just missed the French cherry season -- there were none. On the other hand there were mountains of apricots, so I bought a kilo, and also some thriving little basil plants for only 1.50. I even bought some bread from the excellent bread stall, as I haven't got my starter cranked up again yet.

Home, and while making lunch I heard clopping hooves and went to the window to see what was happening. I was not expecting this (quickly grabbed extra). An extravagant wedding during which the bride went everywhere in horse and carriage. There were hundreds of guests too, surely too many to fit in the small church. Later I went to see Sue to find out how she was getting on, and it turned out to be one of her neighbours. Life in rural France!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.