Farmers' Market Still Life

It was a perfect morning for the farmers' market. As we were walking from the parking lot there was a tiny boy in a veggie hat with a stem coming out of the crown squatting down next to the curb  (oh, to be able to do that so effortlessly!) fascinated by a very small, invisible to my eye, bug. I smiled at his mother, possibly grandmother, and said, 'Ah the age of discovery...' She smiled and said, 'I brought him to the farmers' market for all these new experiences, and he wants to look at rocks, sticks and bugs...' She agreed with my comment that she could have done that in her back yard. 

He was very cute and photogenic, which is when I realized that I had forgotten my phone, so a still life of some of our purchases will have to suffice.The odd looking seed pod-like things we were purchased from the fellow who has beautiful, natural flower arrangements from things he grows himself. According to my iPhone, they are not seedpods but scabiosia stellata, a member of the honeysuckle family. I told him about my large 'everlasting' arrangement of dried flowers, many of which came from his arrangements, but based on hydrangeas dried from our own plants. He said he's never heard of drying hydrangeas, but that he's just planted some and would try it.

We took Spike for a walk down the street and I dropped by my neighbor Ann's open studio to say hello. I got to talking with her friend Vicky who is a physical therapist and knows all the orthopedists in town. and said I was unsure whether to keep my appointment with the Great Man who does the knee replacement surgeries. The consensus seems to be Why not? It probably wouldn't hurt to meet him and get to know him a bit, even though I am willing to stick with the cortisone shots and the lovely young doctor who administers them for now. 

I think my joints are appreciating the warm dry weather. Maybe that is why there are a lot of retirement homes and communities in this town....

I haven't accomplished much, but I don't care. It's been a pleasant day. dana and I plan to go tomorrow when I will actually look at the paintings....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.