Dakers

By Dakers

Thomas Carlyle Lived Here.

Thomas Carlyle lived for for some time in Edinburgh as this plaque on a home in Comely Bank Road proclaims.

Pat had not heard of Thomas Carlyle. She looked him up on Wikipedia and found his achievements of great interest.

I had planned to spend some time in the Botanical Gardens, however, I discovered that I had something banking business which required my attention.

Rather than drive, having just parked the CactusFBI and paid for a ticket, I decided to walk the mile or so to the nearest bank.

I quite enjoy walking through Edinburgh, enjoying the streets and the various houses and gardens. I returned by another route through Inverleith Park and explored the Boardwalk which  leads to a model boating club pond.

There were no boats, however there were several swans floating serenely, unless a dog came close to the edge.  They soon scared off the dogs with some wing flapping and hissing.

I returned to the Scottish Arts Club to rendezvous with Pat and our godson, Euan. Pat had made an appropriate gift to mark Euan and Sophie’s second wedding anniversary.

Prior to the rendezvous, I had visited another bank in Princes Street to ensure the aforementioned Banking Business had been resolved.

Thankfully, it had. When I returned home I then checked via Digital Banking and discovered that the whole exercise was completely unnecessary.

The walking exercise did me good, as did the surroundings I walked through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.