David J. Rose

By djrose007

A Bit of Bother!

It's not as serious as it may look, just my 12V 'Cigarette Lighter' socket has stopped working. Funny I still refer to it as a 'Cigarette Lighter', not much good on a motorbike!
A simple task involving a lot of fiddling to get the cabling out after detaching the socket from the handlebars. It does involve undoing the battery terminal connectors as the socket is powered directly from the battery.
When I have had to do something like this in the past, on the Harley, I usually forget to switch on the ignition and remove the main fuse. If you forget to do this the alarm goes off and won't stop until you put the fuse back in and switch off! It's quite an alarming shrieking nose too.
I remembered this time so all was well.
Getting the wiring out should be easy, just pull and it will all come free - or not! There is, of course, a small fuse box attached to the wire and that proved incredibly difficult to wangle through the wires underneath the fuel tank. The tank is propped up by that bit of wood.
Anyway, I got it out and now awaiting the delivery of a new socket. The new one has a 12v socket plus two USB ports so that will make life a little easier.
4 of our grandchildren came around today, I should be blipping them so I've added a couple of extras. Ruby really loves the dolls.  In the extra of her she is holding Milie like a real baby. Ruby will be 5 this month (12th)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.