earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The State of Play

I keep missing the opportunity to post something and another day goes by. It's not for any other reason than running out of time and energy in the evening. I have a lot of plates spinning at the moment and, although some could be left to run down, I don't want to do that. I'm enjoying the process of going from one to the other.

I'm beginning to think that I'm being very productive with my creative writing at the moment because of the time constraints. When there's only limited time available I make the most of it. I no longer have the luxury of frittering time away and actually get more done as a result. 

It was another perfect day for watching cricket (which makes four Saturdays in a row now). Forrest was having a very rare weekend off (for the reason of having to nurse an adapted tattoo ... long story!) and he discovered that it's absolutely no fun watching from the boundary edge. It was an entertaining game. Harrogate posted 248, which we chased down for four wickets with a couple of overs to spare. Forrest whisked me off for a run during our innings (he couldn't bear to watch any longer) and I diverted back from the moor to the ground in time for the climax. I managed to get a lot of writing in too - between overs.

This image might not capture the day so well but it does my life at the moment. Cleaning is the plate that I have let spin down. Some would argue that one has never been spun up in the first place! With this morning's sunshine, I noticed this cobweb in my bedroom window. I think the spider whose home it is has been here for years. I don't mind sharing my space with spiders. Even if I had time, I don't think I'd have the inclination to wipe it away. That would be awful. It's a work of art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.