GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

EV7 - Day 7 - Daily Bread

Traveling due west from Verona, we departed about 7:30 am wearing rainsuits, trading the “sauna suits’ for sunglasses when the sun emerged mid-morning. A Slow Food Fair at a village park that we cycled past demanded a closer look. Unfortunately, we weren’t hungry and we didn’t need any additional lunch provisions, so I only photographed the colorful bread. I also refused tasting the local amaro digestivo, although I was assured the alcohol content was low - any amount is too much in the morning, especially cycling on roads! I did make friends with the women at the missionary booth. I stunned even myself that I could actually understand the entire conversation at normal speaking speed! Their table was filled with beautifully embroidered linens. An Italian nun leads a program teaching the art of embroidery to young girls and women in Georgia. It is a livelihood for them as their products are sold for their ‘pane quotidiano’ (daily bread). I couldn’t resist and I supported their cause by buying several beautiful pieces - a table cloth, tea-towels, hot-pads. We hugged, took pictures and wished each other well (extra). We reached Peschiera della Garda about noon. The town is nestled between the River Mincio and Lake Garda - a favorite vacation destination for Europeans and Italians. The place is a busy beachy town! The other extra shows the fortress on the river, with the lake beyond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.