LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Having Fun.

It’s not only Edinburgh that is tinkering with bus timetables, Orkney has been busy too since my last visit and my half hour bus service from Stromness to Kirkwall is now hourly and similarly on the return. I can’t really blame the powers that be because the buses are usually fairly empty- almost everyone drives a car up here but for me it makes timing a visit to Kirkwall a little bit more tricky.

Four Selkies, myself included, went swimming in a sea like a millpond at 8am this morning leaving me time to thaw out and catch my usual bus into Kirkwall to have a shop at Lidl. I am spoilt for choice as to which shops to grace. Lidl, Tesco and the Co-op all have premises beside each other near the town centre and not in a far away shopping centre only accessed by car. Stromness has a Co-op.

There was a big cruise ship docked in Kirkwall and shuttle buses were plentiful on the roads taking tourists to the hot spots. I had coffee beside a couple from Leicester who were on a day excursion to Orkney from John O’Groats. I almost feel local with a Scottish accent.

The sun has finally appeared and again I’m sitting in the garden with just a sea wall separating me from the water. There is no sound of waves or traffic just some children’s voices in the distance.
It’s not too hot nor too cold, it’s just perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.