Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Beyond this peaceful scene

... there is the clatter and thud and crash of machinery that is stripping the road surface from Crane Moor Road (about time many would say as it was more pothole than road).  However, this has caused problems for the few residents who are dependent on the local bus, so I'd walked up to let Sylvia know that Roy (of the village transport group) had been pro-active and able to get something done (he has, but I haven't got as far as letting Sylvia know just yet as I didn't get a phone number).

So I carried on up the hill so I could walk through Mill Moor, something I haven't done for ages.  It gave me the chance to try out the Merlin Bird ID app that can identify birds from their song - it's just fantastic!  As I entered the wood it told me there were:

Blackcap, Blackbird and Wood Pigeon
Wren
Wren, Chaffinch, Treecreeper (amazing!) and Blackbird
Skylark, Robin
Skylark
I also heard a Yellow Hammer (but they tend to stop singing when they spot you, unlike the skylarks which go full throttle.
Blue-tit. Jackdaw, Carrion Crow, Goldfinch, Dunnock and Blackbird
Finally: Chaffinch, Blackbird,  Song Thrush, Wood Pigeon and Robin.

And for all of this time, down in the valley, the clanking and scraping and squeaking continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.