Food for thought..

Today we had our book club luncheon that was graciously hosted by Jeanne, one of our members. We started outside in her garden sipping wine, ice tea and having the most delicious finger foods. While admiring her flowers I took this photo of a smartly placed tub of impatients that were placed in front of this blooming rhododendron. The sunlight gave it a nice glowing feature around the edges.
After talking about the book we just read (Life after Life by Kate Atkinson) we then moved inside to the dining room to a wonderful lunch of sausage, penne pasta that had a creamy tomato sauce. It was so good. There was fresh bread of course and olive oil for dipping. After eating and much discussion we picked our next book (The Silver Star by Jeanette Walls). Then Jeanne brought out a gelato cookie roll that everyone went crazy for and devoured!
It was a nice afternoon and I'm thinking of going over to the book store because I'd rather buy the actual book this time instead of downloading it on my Kindle. I miss holding the book and turning the pages. I know the electronic version is a better choice when traveling but there is something to be said for the look and feel of a real book. I kind of miss it. So maybe I won't be saving a tree this time but if I drop it or get it wet it won't be a catastrophe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.