Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: Ella and her Springwatch hare!

The hare is a mysterious creature. We have the same long eared visitor who runs the exact same track at almost the same time every day. He crossed the ploughed field at an exact horizontal to the house. He does this at a run, because it is after all open ground. He then walks. Actually I think he strides. I think this because he has such a lean body and long legs that he strides through the fence wire and crosses the horses field. They greet him with a loping walk. He stops, most likely to say, "we are both prey animals, and yet look at me, I am free" He strides through the other side of the fence and hops, now slowly and teasingly down our driveway away from the house.

He makes the same track and returns later. Perhaps the same, year on year. His mother and father I guess has showed him this safe route. He sometimes comes to right up to house. We always greet him. Apparently its good luck to greet a Hare.

BBC's Springwatch showed a quick clip of a hare. "Its our Hare!" Everyone said...I think the Hare is everyones. Andrew talked about a book he remembered as a child called 'Masquerade' where the artist and the author sadly lost his own Hare, because the world went a treasure hunt frantic to find the golden hare.

Tonight Ell's asked for me to draw her 'our hare'. My drawing, well certainly inspired by our running hare, BBC Springwatch hare, and my love for these mysterious free spirits...x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.