Livresse

By Livresse

Garibaldi Lake

We got up a bit later than we hoped, so the morning was a bit if a rush to rent a car and drive north to hike up to Garibaldi Lake. It is a beautiful part of the world, the weather was stunning, and, wow, what a view when we got there! 
SparseRunner had done this walk  twice before, but was keen to do it again, and it proved different for him, since all the lakes were totally frozen last time. 
Unfortunately I made the rookie error of not having breakfast and scoffing a slice of banana bread just before setting off. I don't digest bananas very well, and not only it failed to give me some energy but I ended up a bit sick, so was rather slow going up. Still, I made it and I was definitely worth it! 
I was also amazed by the wildlife and how tame it is. We saw another bald eagle, a woodpecker, a couple of chipmunks, many black squirrels and plenty of unidentified birds quite close. 
The light as we walked down was really beautiful in the forest. 
18km 900m climb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.