Adam's Images

By ajt

In the pink

This morning we went for a walk along the pink granite coast - extras attached. It was a long weekend in France so quite busy, but even so I got some good pictures. I do confess to applying a grad to the sky to improve the saturation or all of them would look slightly dirty and very pale blue - I may have overdone it but what the heck!

Brittany and Cornwall are both made from rocks in the granite family. Where we live in Saint-Malo is the start, to the east of us changes very quickly to the chalks of Normandy. The pictures here are from the start of the pink section, where the granite matrix is ruch is red feldspar and iron-oxides, giving it a very distinctive red colour.

We went for a very good lunch in town after the morning walk, and then another walk in the later afternoon. I took about 120 pictures, and to be honest I still haven't been through them all yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.