Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Swan downing!

Swan upping is an entirely different thing!

Another cool start to the day today. The only good thing about these cool mornings is that I can water the veg and planters in the morning and not worry about them getting burned. As we are not overlooked I'm usually to be found doing this in my nightie!
I have become a creature of routine I realise!
Get up-
Put kettle on and prepare coffee,
Feed Pickle
Feed the indoor fish.
Go into the garden-
Feed the outdoor fish
Open the cold frame
Water the pots and veg
Hang out any washing that's been on overnight
Back indoors-
Finish making the coffee
Take the coffee back to the bedroom
Feed Cleo
Do Wordle
Do Duolingo
Read my book!
Tomorrow I may feed Cleo first just for the heck of it!
This morning being Wednesday I went to church, a reasonable sized congregation for midweek. Nice to catch up with folks news.
We decided to go to Linlithgow today and went via Blackness where we stopped for lunch at the pub there. Lentil soup today and a smoked mackerel pâté for Colin. We'd been going to wander round the castle but the sun was still behind clouds and there was quite a breeze so we pressed on to Linlithgow.
The Loch was full of swans which gave me my blip today. I watched the two in the first picture taking off and flying low to just beyond me. They are such ungainly birds as they land. I think the first one down must have been panicking that the second wouldn't overshoot its landing.
I made a first batch of strawberry jam after dinner tonight. I think it's set!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.