Llawr y Glyn Smithy

A trip out to St Fagans Museum near Cardiff after hearing from many people how good it was.

From Bristol to Cardiff to see a building dismantled and rebuilt originally from Llawr y Glyn, 2 miles from where my parents live in Mid Wales!

This is a working smithy. It's fascinating to see how many tools are there and how relatively organised it is. I asked the blacksmith if he minded a photograph being taken so this constitutes my first stranger snap. I think it would have been pushing it to ask him to pose!

Anyway, a fascinating and fantastic (and free) day out. The site has buildings from all over Wales representing many different periods and styles of architecture from simple farm buildings to an entire Working Men's Institute.

These are important places and St Fagans have done it extraordinarily well.

Felt rough as can be on my return so spent the rest of the day bed-bound. Apologies to our visitors who I pretty much missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.