movableparts

By MovableParts

Tarzan and JANE

Today at 13 Trees/The Sheltering Place here.....  I sat sketching for a bit when it occurred to me that none of the lizards had yet come by.  I wondered: Would Tarzan appear if I played my recorder? 

Slightly Scientific Observation: Sure enough, half-way through Father Grumble, a lizard appeared on the fallen branch, but with an observedly different body than Tarzan’s.  I played for about 10 minutes with “Jane” listening the whole time.  Then I decided to conduct a bio-musicology inquiry.

Do lizards prefer certain musical notes over others?   I played on my soprano, Bubinga, a Slavic folk tune composed of many high notes. As I suspected, after just a few measures, Jane darted away.  I waited a few minutes then played the lower range Father Grumble again.  Sure enough, Jane came back. This sequence happened yet again when I saw that it was past time for me to skedaddle home.
To be continued……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.