Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Purple Fungi

Today dawned crisp and cold with a heavy frost. Nevertheless the cold did not deter my friend D and me from travelling yet again to Pine Valley. We were loaded up with our day pack, camera gear, picnic lunch and warm clothing.
The frost was incredibly thick on the grass, shrubs and trees at the car-park at the road end. It was almost like a hoar frost. We captured close-up images of the frost crystals....they were so beautiful.
However the purpose of our trip was to photograph more fungi. I used my Nikon D600 again. (That camera has recently returned for being serviced by Nikon in Auckland as it had been suffering from excessive sensor dust... a problem encountered all too frequently by other D600 owners here in New Zealand and internationally. I would be interested to hear from other D600 owners in order to compare notes/problems.)
Getting back to our fungi foray... despite the heavy frost there are still oodles of fungi along the bush tracks. It is cold in the bush and I suspect it will not be very long before the fungi are no more for this season.
Today's offering is two purple fungi. They are quite rare and much sort after by fungi photographers.
I spent some time on the internet this evening trying to identify this rather unusual fungus. There seems to be a number of purple species and the nearest one to the Pine Valley specimens seems to be Cortinarius porphyroideus. Someone with a greater knowledge may well correct me but in the meantime I am content with just calling them Purple Fungi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.