Great Junction Street works

This is a bit of a rubbish mobile phone image, but I've been wanting to put on record these Great Junction Street works for a while, and this was a good opportunity, after I had headed down there this morning first thing to collect my first pair of varifocals from the optician (interim conclusion: the jury is out...especially for using them with the laptop).

The main point I wanted to make was that places are organic. I love following a facebook page called The Spirit of Leithers, because it feeds my fascination with old photos. But I don't like a pure spirit of regret in relation to the organic change of localities. I don't regret the passing of tenements with shared bathrooms (or no bathrooms), or outside toilets. Or the stinking oily mess that the Water of Leith must have been when it was lined with industrial plant. And certainly it's pleasing to see a gap site on Great Junction Street filled with what is, I hope, predominantly low cost housing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.