Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

I did warn her!

I told her.  I reminded her that a description of trainspotting is 'standing around for a long time followed by a short burst of not very much'.  She came along anyway.  To be honest, even in my teenage trainspotting days back in the '60's I wouldn't have bothered about one of these; I'd have looked up, said, "Oh, just a Brush Type 4", and got back to the egg and salad cream sandwiches my mother had made for me.  But today was a bit different as it was arriving at the railway for the 'Mixed Traction Gala' this week and coming under its own steam, so to speak.  That meant they would have to close the road so it could go over the level crossing from the main line to the railway, and that's what I wanted to see, as I'd not seen anything cross it before.

Apart from getting very cold (flaming June!) I think she enjoyed it, but it's telling that she is the only one in the photo not looking at the engine but looking at me with an 'Aah, bless' look on her face.

It's 47712 "Lady Diana Spencer', by the way.  Given what's happening in Court in London this week, I thought it quite appropriate that it then waited in the station while 'Black Prince' arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.