MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Reeling Wren

I had the macro lens on and we were hunting for bugs near the dogs' graves. Then I heard a wren reeling. Wrens have a beautiful, very loud, complex song and a ticking alarm call. They reel when they're concerned about a predator or human getting too close. I then heard the faint piping of fledglings. The funny little, messy, stubby-tailed, yellow-gaped fledglings fluttered falteringly into view. I got a few shots with the macro lens but the settings were wrong and the pics weren't good enough to post. 

I rushed indoors and swapped lenses but when I came out the fledglings had scarpered. The parent wren, think it's a male as the females don't sing, was still there ticking and singing.

PS I read today for the first time that only the males sing. Turns out it is an old belief. Females can and sometimes do sing. Sorry for the misinformation.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.