GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

Bologna, Baloney!

Alert: Content not advisable for Vegans.
Bologna is a place for foodies… and not just Baloney…which is mortadella from Bologna. I remember enjoying baloney on a white kaiser roll with mayonnaise for lunch as a kid. Or even, fried baloney on a roll with ketchup. I never actually tasted the mortadella with olives…I thought it was weird. That was my experience of baloney as a kid. Now that I’m actually in Bologna, I favor the cheeses over the meats. But, to be honest, I just had some prosciutto with melon. And the other night I think I ate some mortadella on a sliver of focaccia as our appertivo while sipping wine at a table in a piazza. Today, was our food shopping day. I bought a few packs of vaccuum packed parmigiano (aged 30 months) to bring home, a little bucket of fresh ricotta (a spoonful is like dessert), and some fresh bufala mozzarella to go with the tomatoes from the produce stand. The market shown in the blip is a regular stop on the tourist trail. We were unfortunate to arrive around lunch time (hungry Italiani) and when several food tour groups (the kind with the leader holding a flag) were stopping to discuss the amazing food products of Emilia Romana that one can eat (and buy) in Bologna (and at this shop)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.