A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Iris

“In Greek mythology Iris was a messenger from the gods who traveled to earth on a rainbow. Wherever she stepped flowers sprang up” - Meadows Farms • Whenever I see an iris I think of my maternal grandmother, whom I’m named after. She had a beautiful bed of irises running along both sides of a long wooden fence, and an eye catching tiered rock garden along a banking that overlooked a babbling brook; mostly creeping phlox with hens and chickens • When she wasn’t doing dishes or mixing together a cake or cookie recipe, she was caring for her flowers. She also dug worms from the vegetable garden for my fishing expeditions in the brook. A favorite pastime was doing the weekly tv guide crossword together. Did I mention she made the best chocolate chip cookies? • Happy Friday! • The sun is supposed to return on Sunday!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.