lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

Fig Frangipane with Nasturtian

Practically my whole day was taken up with cooking: I made two lemon and meringue bavaroise, a huge tiramisù, and two of these crostata di fichi (link to recipe in my Blip yesterday). That these turned out looking pretty good, is a minor miracle, as I was lacking all sorts of ingredients I thought I had. All the figs I didn't use and the magpies didn't get are roasting in the oven with honey, olive oil, and rosemary (but that's for another day).

The lamb is marinating in white wine, garlic and rosemary. Cecílio is making a bacalhau no forno (salted cod). Nicéia is buying the meat to do a mini churrasco, and they're arriving early to get that ready. I'll make rice and farofa to go with that.

I've made houmous, to be eaten with various veggies. There's smoked salmon to arrange, with cream cheese, on toasted bread, for starters. Plus mushrooms stuffed with goat's cheese, and asparagus wrapped in cheese and Iberian ham, both to be roasted tomorrow. And tiny skewers of cherry tomatoes, feta and a basil leaf. 

The guaraná is in the caravan fridge. We'll cool the wine when we take the lamb out tomorrow, to roast with potatoes and carrots. There's also passion fruit juice.

Hoping no-one goes hungry.

Gratefuls:
- a decent rain in the night, yay! (But, for once, hoping it doesn't rain tomorrow; we'd be pretty crowded if we have to eat inside
- getting a wash done and dried on the line, though very little sunshine
- a sunset walk with Mike (see extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.