Shutterbug

By studiob

Munchkin Blue

I've recently started reading The Wizard of Oz on my iphone. There was a classic book app that I added, and that was one of my choices. I'd never read the book and I love it.

I just finished the chapter where Dorothy meets the Munchkins for the first time. She spends the night with the richest Munchkins in the land and discovers that, "Blue is the color of the Munchkins".

Today I went on a garden tour benefiting the parks of Nichols Hills, where our favorite park, Kite Park is located (April 30th and May 21st blips - sorry, I haven't been able to link to my other blips for some reason).

There were 5 gardens on the tour, most very big and one small. The small one was my favorite.

At every house though, I was drawn to the shade plants - hydrangeas, hostas, caladiums, dwarf mondo grass, ivy, you get the picture. All the beautiful green, setting off the plants around them. Emerald green.

My favorites were the hydrangeas. Big, blue hydrangeas. Not as big as the hydrangeas in Seattle, but still beautiful.

I've always been drawn to blue in the garden. I remember when we lived in Colorado, we had bachelor buttons in the backyard that were blue that I loved.

So in honor of Dorothy, the Munchkins and her journey to the Emerald City, my blip today is this beautiful, blue hydrangea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.