Out and About

By Puffin

Yard 23, Tognarellis Yard

Another Kendal yard. I'm standing with my back to the river to take this photo. In times of old the occupants of the yards would be able to wash all their detritus down the yard into the river. It's now flats but it appears they kept the original entrance arch.   In the 1950s this was Tognarelli's Yard. I found this on the internet:- "....the proliferation of ice cream parlours in our country during the late Forties/ early Fifties. ‘Tognarellis’ in Kendal was run by Antonio Tognarelli and his wife Rafaella. Mr Toni was the son of an Italian POW, I believe. There was a big camp in Lancaster,  " Before that it was Tog's Yard and Matthew's Yard but my book on the yards of Kendal does not know who these people were. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.