Maureen6002

By maureen6002

The Labeèque sisters

Well, I manage today’s planned activities - after a great deal of deliberation and spending the early part of the day resting. 

Back in March, I’d booked an evening of piano music in Liverpool’s Philharmonic Hall -  a concert by the brilliant Labèque sisters, virtuoso musicians who play either works composed for four hands on one piano or for two pianos! I’ve been looking forward to it, but the reality of the effort needed makes it less enticing. 

Eventually we decide to go for it, and even manage an Italian meal beforehand.  It’s a short but delightful concert - each half just over 35 minutes, so ideal for me. The variety of music - just four pieces - is sublime. Two beautiful pieces of French Impressionism, the rich romance of Schubert and the magnificent minimalism of Glass. It is the Glass that is my favourite - such dynamic and rhythmic intensity. A new piece to me, but I wholeheartedly recommend it! (Full program is in today’s main). 

We’d last heard them live in The Barbican when they were in their vibrant 30s, and realise that the tiny framed - unmistakably French - women on the stage are now in their equally vibrant early 70s. They take a bow, acknowledging their standing ovation, before launching into a very jazzy encore of the Jets’ Song from West Side Story. Superb - and I’m so glad I’ve made the effort. 

Then it’s on to Daniel and Solveig’s to stay overnight. We could drive home, but this is far closer, amid it’s always good to see them. My first night away since having the catheter, so it’s another mini ‘challenge’ met. 

Thanks so much for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Demoiselle. I’ll catch up with journals when I’m home. 

Today’s main is the stage set up for the concert; the extra an end of concert bow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.