There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Early June: Of Angels and Promises

June has always been a big month for my family. There are numerous birthdays, including my oldest sister Barb and my Dad and my husband. And Father's Day, of course. And my parents' wedding anniversary.

Barb loved the ocean, and every June, we tried to make plans to go to the beach together. Atlantic City was a favorite, but we did other trips as well. June 5 was her birthday, and it always found us plotting and scheming to have summer fun together.

I miss my big sister and I miss the fun we had. And as her birthday creeps up each year, I have a feeling of emptiness, and devastating loss. She was the funnest person I ever knew. She loved me better, way better, than anyone else ever did. And I, for my part, adored her; I thought she walked on water.

But I am trying to get to a point where I do not allow those feelings of loss and unhappiness to dominate what was once a very happy time of year. It would break her heart to think her birthday makes me cry.

So I am resolving to celebrate my angel sister, and to try to overflow with gratitude for all of what she was and did, and the fun we had together. She was our butterfly girl, and every time I see a butterfly, I think of her.

On this day, my husband and I went over to the Barrens, to the closed road by the shooting range where he likes to jog. In my walk, I discovered a stand of dame's rocket along the road.

The flowers were absolutely MOBBED by butterflies, which seemed like colorful angels, flitting and floating around, enjoying the sun, tasting the nectar, and finding it delicious. They also seemed like promises to me: promises that I will see my sister again, but not yet.

The picture above is of an American lady butterfly, Vanessa virginiensis. The one in the extras is one of the fritillaries. It might be great spangled, but I'm not sure. Please enjoy these butterflies in honor of my sister's birthday. :-)

And know that angels surround us, and that their promises will be kept.

I have two butterfly photos, so here are two soundtrack songs. First is Angel from Montgomery, performed by Dolly Parton, Bonnie Raitt, and Alison Krauss (and if there is a trio of angels, for sure, these ladies are them!). Second is When In Rome, with their 1988 one-hit wonder, The Promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.